Is it really labor day weekend? Where did the summer go? I swear it was June 1st yesterday, wasn’t it? I only went swimming once, wait summer don’t go!!! LOL so in honor of Labor day, I decided to do a recap of my fiber filled summer. Because even though the temperature was hot, around here, the knitting didn’t stop!

Technically it was late spring when I finished my Spring Fever by Amy Miller, but talking about kicking off the season with something lightweight and totally out of character for me, yea I did that! I am very proud of my wrap and I am certain folks are tired of looking at it, because YUP everyday I had to go into the office…LOL! IMG_5087those 8 skeins turned into what has to be in my top 10 projects! This project was simple to do, it’s all stockinette, which could bore you to tears…but them color changes kept it fun! I weaved as I went along so no annoying ends to do when I was done. IMG_5335

Then I had the pleasure of participating in WWKIP Day in NYC! Wow what sensory stimulation..the sights, the sounds and the feel of all the wonderful yarn. Yea at this event it is encouraged to touch strangers, heck to rub and squeeze! hahahahahahah AND  the weather was perfect! I am so very happy my daughter drove me over.

IMG_5765I had a blast, and met some pretty cool new fiber friends. I even got to strut my stuff in the fashion show! Hhahahahahahahaaa I was working on my Shades of grey and everyone loved it! #proudmoment.  You all remember the Shades of Grey Poncho right? The one I fell in love with during the NJWoolwalk when I was at Do Ewe Knit?IMG_5889

AND then I had the honor of being asked to test knit for Taiga Hilliard. I did 3 super bulky shawls for her that I have grown to love. You guy tired of those pics yet? I’m not! hahahahahahahahaaa

Gaye Glasspie of GGMadeIt modeling knitwear for PattyMac Photos as photographed by Patty McGuire
Gaye Glasspie of GGMadeIt modeling knitwear for PattyMac Photos as photographed by Patty McGuire
Gaye Glasspie of GGMadeIt modeling knitwear for PattyMac Photos as photographed by Patty McGuire
Gaye Glasspie of GGMadeIt modeling knitwear for PattyMac Photos as photographed by Patty McGuire
Gaye Glasspie of GGMadeIt modeling knitwear for PattyMac Photos as photographed by Patty McGuire
Gaye Glasspie of GGMadeIt modeling knitwear for PattyMac Photos as photographed by Patty McGuire

AND to top off the lovely patterns I had the honor of being photographed by an amazing photographer. I was in VA for family reunion and she lives in VA, so yea the rest is history! The one and only Patty McGuire, man when I tell you it was hot as hell out there. But she made me feel so comfortable and we just had a blast! The first time you see your work through someone else’s eyes, man o man, this was a super proud moment.

IMG_6675

I got to meet the owner of Malabrigo yarns and won me a skien of Rasta! HA it absolutely can’t get better than that! I truly enjoyed my first visit to Argyle Yarns in Brooklyn.

Then to end the month of August I got to meet the owner of Anzula at her trunk show held at none other than Do Ewe Knit…one of my favorite yarn stores in Westfield NJ!

IMG_7160

So yea it was hot but the knitting NEVER ever STOPS! I am a dedicated Yarnho!

I would also like to take this time to say thanks for reading and commenting. I read them all, sometimes multiple times lol no judging, remember? hahahahahahaahahahaaa

I welcome my favorite season of them all, come one Fall! It’s the season that is the home of my favorite color: Orange 😛 it is also when I knit the most, if there is such a time.

I hope your summers were filled with family, friends and fiber

Knit on my fiber friends….Knit on!

~GG