READ THE PATTERN GG!! BEFORE YOU BEGIN! UGH!!

So I just finished a baby romper and hat and it took me 2 1/2 weeks to finish it because I didn’t read it first. Because I am always so eager to start the next project. I just dive right in..SMH I bet I won’t do that again. This project took me so long for no good reason. I will do better

2015-08-12 10.35.08

What could I have avoided if I had read the pattern first? Is that your question? Well here is the answer….

  1. Running to the yarn store for buttons. I mean I look at the picture and some part  of my mind saw buttons, but did I pay attention or make a conscious decision what type of buttons I would use? NOPE ! Delay #1IMG_6774
  2. Running to the yarn store for help. This was a commissioned project so the pressure to get it right was tremendous and because of that I absolutely should have thoroughly read the pattern. Did I? NOPE, I just knit my way right to the bump in the road, so to speak and couldn’t get over it to save my life…to the knit store I ran. Of course I was distracted by all of the beautiful yarn. Delay #2IMG_6751
  3. Running to Michaels to find ribbon. So yea about that picture on the front of the pattern. The one I looked at every day for almost 3 weeks. The one that clearly showed the bonnet with the RIBBON..yea THAT picture. The picture that I didn’t pay attention to, is the reason I was so running into the yarn store before they closed so I could ship it out. #hotmess Delay #3IMG_7010

I wasted so much time by not preparing properly, I will always read the pattern first from this day forward. I mean the I am pretty happy with the end result, but it absolutely could have been done sooner. IMG_7020

Another thing I didn’t do was measure the yarn..wait I can’t take the blame for that part, the pattern didn’t say how much was required. So I was truly playing yarn chicken. This yarn I received in a Yarnbox like 2 years ago. It is Fyberspates vivacious which is 100% super wash merino. The color which I couldn’t capture properly, is called Blue Lagoon. I am so very happy that I was able to use it and I can’t wait to see the gorgeous little lady wearing it.

I can’t be the only one that needed this lesson, can I? Do you guys read the entire pattern before you start knitting? Do I have and “just jump in” knitters on here? I guess this comes from being self taught.

Knit on my fiber friends…knit on