“An essential aspect of creativity is not being afraid to fail” -Edwin Land

Let’s talk about that part of my personality that stops me from reading the directions and just going for it, yea that part. I shared in a previous post that I wanted to learn design right? The best course of action would be grab a book or take an online course, but that is too much like right. Oh no, we can’t do that   *insert blank stare*

Instead of figuring out the math so the cowl came out the size I wanted, I just casted on until I could comfortably join in the round. Yup you read it right, who does that??

Screen Shot 2015-01-24 at 12.06.02 PM

 

That would be me and of course it’s too wide, well duh had I done some home work instead of just casting on.  The original plan was to just alternate stripes, I found a video tutorial to show me how to avoid the jog when knitting stripes in the round and got started. The knitting was going well, but I got bored and decided to try some color work. Now this part I think I did a dayum good job at, did I write down what I did? NOPE smh.

IMG_3449IMG_0131

I started out with changing the color every 2 stitches which created columns if you will. Then I decided I wanted checks so I changed color every 4 stitches, after 4 rounds I did the opposite which created the little squares. *insert cheesy grin* I was very proud of myself in that respect.  My floats even looked good

IMG_3507

I just need to find me a class on Craftsy and figure out the math part and try it again. Like they say, if at first you don’t succeed, try doing some research,  wait I said that! LOL! But you know what I mean. 20150124_100412Knit on my fiber friends…knit on

~GG