Last night I came across this picture on  Willashalit’s Instagram page and instantly thought what stitch it that? If you are on IG go check her out, she is mean with those knitting needles. After stalking her page,  I went to investigate the stitch and made me wonder if there a dictionary of stitches? Which led me to my bookshelf, but before I go there, let me give you the information about this IG page and the picture that caught my attention. Below is the picture that stopped me in my tracks. The bonus was on this page called Knit_play  which also belongs to Willa, not only do they post the drool worthy pics, they give you the pattern to achieve said drool.

Screen Shot 2014-12-13 at 4.29.06 PM

Screen Shot 2014-12-13 at 4.29.28 PM

Into my stash I dived, found some yarn that worked together in reference to color and weight and started humming “Cast on Baby” Wait,  you don’t know that song? Oh tell me you haven’t seen this video on YouTube? Hint you may see someone you recognize in there….anyway I grabbed my US17s and some Thick n Quick. The pattern says cast on in multiples of 4 plus 2 so I did 18 and got started.  Here is what I have so far and I love how you get stripes on one side and checks on the other.

IMG_2344

Isn’t it cool? A strategically placed slip stitch and the magic unfolds. As I was watching this unfold the wondering began and it lead me to my bookshelf. I knew I had some books, but wasn’t sure if I had a book with stitches in it and of course I did! Then my thought process became, why don’t I use what I have instead of searching far and wide for inspiration on the internet when I have reference material right in my face. Is that the age of the internet that stops us from utilizing the physical resources and always searching online for virtual information? What knitting/crocheting resources do you use, virtual or physical?

20141213_110931

Here is the pattern in case you wanted to cast on baby. I will come back and show you the finished project. I think I will make it an infinity cowl.

Screen Shot 2014-12-13 at 12.29.12 AMKnit on my fiber friends…knit on

~GG